About Rufforth East

Rufforth East forms part of RAF Rufforth, a historic world war II airfield which was originally opened in 1941 to host the Handley Page Halifax 4 engine bombers, initially with 158 Squadron and subsequently became the Operational Training Unit (OTU) and then the Heavy Conversion Unit for the Halifax.

Prior to being disbanded the airfield hosted cadet flying in Slingsby T31’s and air experience flights for 125 Sqd ATC in the venerable De Haviland Chipmunk. 

The original RAF classic layout is still visible today across the whole site consisting of Rufforth East and Rufforth West (home to the York Gliding Centre).

Motorsport at Rufforth

While still owned by the MoD and operating as RAF Rufforth at weekends the airfield hosted several motor racing clubs including the British Automobile Racing Club (BARC) and 750 Motor Club. 

Participants included a variety of classes and types from Formula-Junior up to Formula 2, saloon and sports cars making for varied, fast, and spectacular racing.  Please click here to see some archive footage of motorsport at Rufforth.

Rufforth East

In the 90’s the airfield was acquired by its current owners whose primary business is agriculture.  

With a passion for aviation we have maintained and made significant investment in the airfield over the years preserving it for future generations of aviators. We have always held the mantra of flying for all, with a very broad variety of aviation happening at Rufforth East and pilots of different disciplines sharing the airfield.

Most recently we have added more facilities including a new clubroom and café in 2019, several new ultra-modern hangars to grow the availability of hangarage for based aircraft and several new tenants bringing aviation related hi-technology businesses and employment into the local area.

We look forward to welcoming you to our airfield.

The Beckett Family

WordPress Cookie Notice by Real Cookie Banner